Millennium Post

Indian golfers major force on home turf

Indian golfers major force on home turf
Indian golfers, including inform Anirban Lahiri, will be a major force to reckon with at the 51st Indian Open which will held at Delhi Golf Club for the 27th time starting February 19. With Indians winning abroad more than ever, they pose the biggest threat to challengers from Asia and Europe. In 2014, Indians golfers Rashid Khan and SSP Chowrasia won two titles at home, while Anirban Lahiri (2), Rashid Khan and Arjun Atwal clinched crowns outside the country.

In fact, a lot of Indians have tasted success at Asian and European Tour events at the Delhi Golf Club. While Jyoti Randhawa won two of his three Indian Opens at DGC besides two Hero Masters events, Chowrasia has won one co-sanctioned and one Asian Tour event at this venue. Lahiri won his first three Asian Tour events at DGC and Rashid Khan clinched his first win at the DGC last year, while Atwal won the Hero Masters at DGC in 2000. Since 1998, when Feroze Ali became only the second Indian professional after Ali Sher (1991 and 1993) to win the Indian Open, Indians have won no less than seven times in the next 16 editions.
Next Story
Share it