Millennium Post

Indian batting flounders as SA win

Chasing South Africa’s competitive 270 for seven, largely built around Quinton de Kock’s 103 and Faf de Plessis’ made a valuable 60 after South Africa elected to bat first India were cruising along <g data-gr-id="60">comfortable</g> before losing the plot in the last 15 overs with a flurry of wickets as they ended at 252 for six.

The rezig in <g data-gr-id="64">batting</g> order, with skipper MS Dhoni promoting himself up at number four and Ajinkya Rahane coming out to bat number six also did not work.

The tourists’ pace-heavy bowling attack, led by the lanky Morne Morkel who grabbed a brilliant 4 for 39, throttled the home side batsmen in the final stages. <g data-gr-id="55">Half centuries</g> from Rohit Sharma (65) and Virat Kohli (77) and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni s 47 in 61 balls could not take India across the line.

After 35 overs, India were 162 for 2 but the as game progressed it gradually slipped out of their hands. Dhoni departed in the 41st over, trying to force the pace but was caught at third man off Morkel. The task got stiffer with 78 needed off 48 balls.

Though Kohli hit a few boundaries, the asking rate kept climbing and Suresh Raina was also dismissed going for a big one off Imran Tahir to leave the hosts at 206 for 4 in the 44th over.
And when Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane were dismissed by Morkel in successive balls in the 46th over, in identical fashion at long-on by David Miller, the task was beyond the hosts grasp.

Rohit, who was yet again in sublime touch, was lucky to be dropped by Morkel off Jean-Paul Duminy when he was on 18. It was <g data-gr-id="61"><g data-gr-id="52">sitter</g></g> and he went on to make his 27th fifty.

Rohit and Kohli ran the singles briskly and put on 72 runs for the second wicket before Rohit hit a return catch to Duminy.

Dhoni promoted himself a rung higher and provided the thrust with good running between the wickets and the target looked well in sight as he and Kohli added 80 runs.

The ODI skipper and captain-in-waiting nudged the ball into gaps, ran quick singles and hit the occasional boundary to keep India well in the <g data-gr-id="76">hunt</g> but their dismissals sealed India’s fate. 

Earlier, left-handed batsman Quinton de Kock played the <g data-gr-id="63">sheet-anchor’s</g> role to perfection in hot and sweltering conditions to make 103 in 118 balls.

Courtesy De Kock’s ninth hundred in his 50th ODI appearance along with Faf Du Plessis’ 63-ball-60, the visitors did well to set up a fighting target.

But the loss of three wickets just before the slog overs, including that of the centurion, arrested their progress though Farhan Behardien (33) played a useful knock in the end.

Prior to the century partnership between de Kock who hit 11 fours and a six - and Du Plessis, the former put on 72 runs for the first wicket with promoted David Miller (33) to provide the tourists with a good beginning.

De Kock was run out with the final 10 overs to come soon after du Plessis was dismissed and this was followed by the departure of their captain <g data-gr-id="56">A B</g> de Villiers, sent back by Axar Patel, off the next ball of the innings.

The clutch of three quick wickets in the space of just 9 balls, left South Africa tottering at 210 for 5 with the last Powerplay just up. Towards the end the visitors added 60 runs, including 35 in the last five, but fell well short of the 300 mark that they were aiming for.

Indian spinners, Harbhajan Singh (1/41) in particular, applied the brakes in time, after which the Proteas steadily built up the score before losing the three wickets in a hurry. South Africa were given a good start by their new all- leftie opening pair of Quinton de Kock and David <g data-gr-id="72">Miller,</g> promoted up the order after his twin failures earlier in the series, who put on 72 runs.

The new ball came on to the bat quite well and the duo flourished a bit to score a few boundary hits, including a six over square leg by de Kock off Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. 

Score Board
South Africa: Q de Kock run out 103 Miller c Rahane b Harbhajan 33 Amla st Dhoni b Mishra 5 du Plessis c Kumar b Sharma 60 De Villiers lbw b Patel 4 Duminy c Raina b Sharma 14 Behardien not out 33 Steyn run out 12 Rabada not out 0 Extras: (W-5, NB-1) 6 Total: (For seven <g data-gr-id="136">wkts</g>; 50 overs) 270 
Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 10-1-65-0, Mohit Sharma 9-0-62-2 Harbhajan Singh 10-0-41-1, Amit Mishra 10-0-38-1, Axar Patel 9-0-51-1, Suresh Raina 2-0-13-0

India: Rohit c & b Duminy 65 Dhawan c de Villiers b Morkel 13 Kohli c Miller b Morkel 77 Dhoni c Steyn b Morkel 47 Raina c Miller b Tahir 0 Rahane c Miller b Morkel 4 Patel not out 15 Singh not out 20 Extras (b-2, lb-1, w-8) 11 Total (For 6 wickets; 50 overs) 252 Bowling: Steyn 10-0-65-0, Rabada 10-0-39-0, Morkel 10-1-39-4, Duminy 8-0-46-1, Tahir 10-0-51-1, Behardien 2-0-9-0

Next Story
Share it