Millennium Post

India announce hockey team for Japan series

India on Thursday announced a 24-strong team for the men’s hockey series against Japan in Bhubaneswar from May 3 to 9.

The Preparatory Camp for the series, which started on April 22 at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, ended on Thursday. The team will leave for Bhubaneswar May 1. The series will be in preparation of the all-important FIH Hockey World League Semi-Final scheduled in June this year. 

After finishing third in the recent Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, the team will be looking for a series win 
against Japan in the upcoming tournament. Speaking on the team, Head Coach Paul van Ass said, “The team looks confident ahead of the upcoming tournament. They are on a high post their third place finish at the 25th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup and the team will aim for a series win.”
Team: Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh, Harjot Singh.

Defenders: Gurbaj Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh, VR Raghunath, Jasjit Singh, Gurmail Singh, Yuvraj Walmiki, Harmanpreet Singh.

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Dharamvir Singh, Sardar Singh, SK Uthappa, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Pardeep Mor. 

Forwards: SV Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Satbir Singh, Lalit Upadhyay. 


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it