Millennium Post

‘Hope Lokayukta choice will be unanimous’

Expressing “satisfaction” over the process to appoint Lokayukta, the Leader of the Opposition in Delhi Assembly Vijender Gupta hoped that the appointment to the post will be unanimous.

The name of the Lokayukta of Delhi will be finalised in a meeting convened on Tuesday by the LG, in which Delhi high court Chief Justice G Rohini, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Vijender Gupta will participate. Gupta said that he was “confident” that the name of Delhi’s Lokayukta will be unanimously finalised on Tuesday. 

“It is a matter of satisfaction that Delhi is going to get Lokayukta after almost two years. It is hoped that the institution will meet its objective of eradicating corruption, favouritism, nepotism, misuse of power and maintaining probity,” he said. As per Delhi Lokayukta and Uplokayukta Act, 1995, the Lokayukta is appointed after consultations among the Chief Justice of the High Court, the Chief Minister and the Leader of the Opposition in Delhi Assembly. AAP government has proposed three names — retired Chief Justice of Orissa high court Bilal Nazki, retired Chief Justice of Haryana and Punjab High Court Jasbir Singh and retired judge of Delhi high court, Reva Khetrapal. Delhi’s last Lokayukta, Justice (Retd) Manmohan Sarin, had relinquished office in November, 2013, following a five-year term.

Meanwhile, with the name of retired Chief Justice of Andhra Pradesh high court, Nisar Ahmad Kakru, doing the rounds for the Lokayukta’s post, the tussle between the LG and the Arvind Kejriwal government could take a new turn as the ruling AAP is opposed to the candidate.
Next Story
Share it