Millennium Post

HI welcomes Hockey Coorg as associate member

Hockey India on Monday introduced Hockey Coorg as an associate member from Karnataka.

Karnataka will now boast of two units, as Hockey Karnataka is a permanent member, according to a release.

P.E. Kalaiah will be the president of Hockey Coorg, which becomes the 28th ssociate member of HI.

Karnataka has traditionally been a major contributor to the sport and Hockey Coorg’s primary functionality will be to manage the large talent pool in its area that has produced some great players like B.P. Govinda, Arjun Halappa, A.B. Subbaiah and M.P. Ganesh. 

A few of the current players donning the national cap from Coorg are V.R. Raghunath, S.V. Sunil, S.K. Utthappa, Nikin Thimmiah and Nithin Thimmaiah. 

With the formation of Hockey Coorg, the region can now participate in the National Championships as a separate team. “I am delighted to welcome Hockey Coorg as an associate member unit of Hockey India. 

“!The region of Coorg has always given our country some exceptional athletes in the sport of hockey,” HI secretary general Mohd. Mushtaque Ahmad said in a release.  
Next Story
Share it