Millennium Post

Haryana, TN, Air India, MP in last eight

Defending champions Haryana, Tamil Nadu, Air India and Madhya Pradesh on Tuesday, entered the quaterfinals of the second Senior Men’s National Hockey Championship.

While Haryana pipped Puducherry 3-1 in Pool A, Tamil Nadu advanced to the quarters from Pool G after trouncing Kerala 16-1.

Haryana had been exceptional right from the start of the tournamernt as so far they did not lose a single game.  They registered a convincing 8-0 win against Bengal in the opener and then pipped Bhopal 2-1 in a hard-fought battle.

Air India and Madhya Pradesh also stormed into the quarterfinals from Pool E after thrashing Nagaland 16-0 and Rajasthan 11-0, respectively.

Air India had earlier won two matches against Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan 4-1 and 9-0, while Madhya Pradesh had won against Nagaland 9-2 before losing to Air India.

In their previous encounters, Tamil Nadu drew against Orissa 2-2 and walloped Gujarat 25-1, the highest goal-scoring match in the championship till date.
Next Story
Share it