Millennium Post

Gujarat clinch Syed Mushtaq Ali T20

Gujarat clinched the Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 championship title after registering a thumping six-wicket victory over Punjab in the summit clash here. Electing to bat, Punjab suffered a top-order collapse to be reduced to 20 for four in the sixth over before they recovered a bit to score 122 for eight in their allotted 20 overs at the Holkar Stadium. Gujarat chased down the target with 13 balls to spare.

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah was the pick of the Gujarat bowlers as he returned with three wickets for just 14 runs from his four overs. Amitoze Singh top-scored for Punjab with a 42-ball 49. Chasing a modest target of 123, Gujarat started badly as they lost their wicketkeeper captain Parthiv Patel but Manprit Juneja (31) and Abdulahad Malik (31 no) put up 64 runs together to pave the way for a Gujarat victory.

Next Story
Share it