Millennium Post

Govt reconstitutes key cabinet panels

Govt reconstitutes key cabinet panels
The government on Thursday reconstituted six key Cabinet Committees, four of which will be headed by prime minister Narendra Modi and two by home Minister Rajnath Singh.

The Committees reconstituted were on Security, Economic Affairs, Political Affairs, Parliament Affairs, Accommodation and Appointments.

Modi will head the Cabinet Committees on Security, Economic Affairs, Appointments and Political Affairs.

Singh will head the Cabinet Committee on Accommodation and Parliamentary Affairs.
Ministers from NDA allies Shiromani Akali Dal, Lok Janshakti Party and Shiv Sena – Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Ram Vilas Paswan and Anant Geete respectively – have been made part of the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs (CCPA). It is a practice to include allies in this committee.
The CCEA will have 11 members, including Modi, Rajnath Singh, external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj, finance minister Jaitley, urban development minister M Venkaiah Naidu and transport minister Nitin Gadkari.

The Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs will be headed by Singh and will have a total of eight members.

The Cabinet Committee on Security will have Singh, Swaraj and Jaitley as its members.
While the Appointments Committee of Cabinet will be headed by Modi with Singh as its member, the Committee on Accommodation will have four members.

Earlier this month, Modi had scrapped the Cabinet Committee on Prices, World Trade Matters and UIDAI and their functions will now be handled by the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA).
Next Story
Share it