Millennium Post

Go Goa!

Go Goa!
The 44th International Film Festival of India was announced in the Capital on Thursday. The event is organised by the IFFI Secretariat under the aegis of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, India, in collaboration with the Government of Goa.

This year the festival is featuring 160 films to bring the best cinema from around the world to India. The festival will see participation of well known actors, director, producer, filmmakers and screenwriter from around the world like Susan Sarandon, Majid Majidi, and Agnieszka Holland. The Indian celebrity delegation includes veteran actress Rekha, singer Asha Bhonsle, actor-filmmaker Kamal Haasan, and actor Manoj Kumar who will flag off the Indian Panorama 2013. 

Indian Sections including Indian Panorama will showcase around 151 films Indian films during the festival.  The Indian Panorama feature film category will be opened by the Malayalam Kanyaka Talkies and will feature the work of directors like Rituparno Ghosh’s Satyanweshi, Anand Gandhi’s Ship of Theseus, Rakesh Omprakash Mehra’s Bhaag Milkha Bhaag and Manju Borah’s Ko: Yad.

The highlight of the festival is Peacock Awards, which is the International Competition, with prize money amounting to a total of Rs 1.1 crore. 15 films from around the world are competing for the coveted Peacock Awards.

A jury comprising of Serbian film director Goran Paskeljevic,  French filmmaker Claire Dennis, Sri-Lankan writer-filmmaker Prasanna Vithanag, Indian actor Victor Banerjee, and critically acclaimed French-Afghan photographer, writer and filmmaker Atiq Rahimi, will adjudge the awards at the festival. This year IFFI will open with The Don Juans, the 2013 Oscar-nominated Czech comedy film by Oscar winning filmmaker Jiri Menzel. The festival will also recognise his contribution to cinema with a Lifetime Achievement Award. While, Justin Chadwick’s Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom will be the closing film of the festival.

Next Story
Share it