Millennium Post

GCPA to support TMC in Cooch Behar by-election

Greater Cooch Behar People’s Association (GCPA) will support the Trinamool Congress in the Lok Sabha by-election scheduled to be held on November 19.

Banshibadan Burman, leader of the association on Thursday held a press conference at Trinamool Bhavan to announce the decision.

Mukul Roy who was also present at the press conference said they are most welcome to support Trinamool Congress but under no circumstances will their demand for a separate state be supported.

“We do not support the demand for a separate state. We should work together for Bengal’s development,” he said.

There will be by-election in two Lok Sabha and one Assembly seat.

The Cooch Behar (SC) seat fell vacant after Trinamool MP Renuka Sinha died a few months ago.

The Tamluk Lok Sabha seat fell vacant after Suvendu Adhikari resigned and contested the Assembly election. He is now the Transport minister. The Manteshwar Assembly seat fell vacant after Trinamool MLA died.

The Left and Congress have fielded separate candidates in all these three constituencies. BJP has fielded its candidates.

Sisir Adhikari, Trinamool MP has urged party workers to ensure landslide victory for party’s nominee. His youngest son Dibyendu is contesting from Tamluk. In East Midnapore, Trinamool lost two seats, Tamluk and Panskura East because of infighting.

Adhikari has urged party workers to put up a united fight. Political experts said the organisation of the Opposition parties had become so weak that it would be difficult for them to field workers in the polling stations.

“For the past five or six months Congress and CPI(M) had only criticised  Mamata Banerjee instead of trying to organise their own workers. The result is disastrous and this will become palpable in the by-election,” an analyst said.

Meanwhile, Trinamool Congress itself does not seem to be suffering from complacency. After Kali Puja, meetings will be held and rallies will be taken out to highlight the work carried out by the state government.
Next Story
Share it