Millennium Post

Four more disqualified JD(U) MLAs move Patna HC

Buoyed by the Patna High Court order restoring membership of four rebel JD(U) MLAs, four others who were disqualified in December on similar charges have filed a plea in the court today challenging the Bihar Speaker’s order but the ruling party said it was considering action against more legislators.

The four MLAs-- Ajit Kumar (Kanti), Raju Kumar Singh (Sahebganj), Suresh Chanchal (Sakra) and Poonam Devi (Digha)-- were disqualified by Assembly Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary on December 27 under anti-defection law after JD(U) had charged them with anti-party activities and voluntary surrender of membership over alleged cross voting in Rajya Sabha election in June.

Justice Jyoti Sharan had on Tueswday set aside termination of four rebel JD(U) MLAs Gyanendra Singh Gyanu, Rahul Sharma, Neeraj Kumar Bablu, Ravindra Rai by the Speaker on November 1 last year for alleged anti-pary activities including cross-voting.

“We have challenged our disqualification by the Assembly Speaker and petitioned the high court through our advocate SBK Mangalam for justice,” Ajit Kumar told a news agency.

The case, he said, was similar to the four MLAs whose disqualification was set aside by the court on Tuesday.

“The charges brought against us were the same as those brought against the restored MLAs. Even the Speaker’s order against us was similar to the one which was delivered against them. We are hopeful that the high court will ensure justice to us,” Kumar added. Poonam Devi claimed that the tenth schedule of Constitution relating to anti-defection law had been wrongly invoked against the four MLAs though they had not indulged in anti-party activity.
Next Story
Share it