Millennium Post

Festival of Letters salutes stalwarts

Festival of Letters salutes stalwarts
Dr. Ramakanta Rath, eminent Odiya Poet was the Chief Guest of the evening. He observed, 'The legacy of rich Indian literature is being carried forward by the eminent personalities present here today and hundreds of others like them who have dedicated their whole lives to literary pursuits.'

Eminent poets including Javed Akhtar (Urdu), Subodh Sarkar (Bengali) and Ambika Dutt (Rajasthani) and renowned novelists Mridula Garg (Hindi), Manmohan (Punjabi) and R.N. Joe D' Cruz (Tamil) were among the awardees who graced the festival with their presence and accepted the awards from Dr. Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari, President, Sahitya Akademi.

Dr. Tiwari said,'What Sahitya Akademi is offering to these literary greats is merely a gesture compared to their immense contribution to the Indian literature. We are privileged to be able to salute their great works in the form of this felicitation, which is not to be considered a prize but an apt recognition for their efforts, dedication and the perfection that they have achieved in their works!'

The Award winners of the evening were Rabindra Sarkar (Assamese), Subodh Sarkar (Bengali), Anil Boro (Bodo), Sita Ram Sapolia (Dogri), Temsula Ao (English), Chinu Modi (Gujarati), Mridula Garg (Hindi), C.N. Ramachandran (Kannada), Mohi-ud-Din Reshi (Kasmiri), Tukaram Ram Shet (Konkani)Sureshwar Jha (Maithili), M.N.Paloor (Malayalam), Makhonmani Mongsaba (Manipuri)Satish Kalsekar (Marathi), Manbahadur Pradhan (Nepali), Bijay Mishra (Odia)Manmohan (Punjabi), Ambika Dutt (Rajasthani), Radhakant Thakur (Sanskrit)Arjun Charan Hembram (Santali), Namdev Tarachandani (Sindhi), R.N.Joe D’Cruz (Tamil), Katyayani Vidmahe (Telegu), Javed Akhtar (Urdu).
The most prominent attractions at the event was the exhibition, where all the award winning titles since 1954 are exhibited.
Next Story
Share it