Millennium Post

Rajnigandha Achievers win Cavalry Gold Cup

'Rajnigandha Achievers' emerged winners of Cavalry Gold Cup (10 Goal) beating Garcha Group-Aravali Polo by 7 goals to 5½ goals in the finals played at Jaipur Polo Ground. This is the first tournament of Delhi Spring Polo Season 2019. Gen Bipin Rawat, PVSM, UYSM, AVSM, YSM, SM, VSM, ADC, Chief of the army staff and President Indian Polo Association gave away the trophy and prizes to the players.

Rajnigandha Achievers opened their score board in the first chukker through Matthew Philip Perry. He also put the second goal by converting a 30 yard penalty, and the third one also came from his stick as a field goal. The Garcha Group-Aravali Polo couldn't find any goal in the first chukker. In beginning of the second chukker, Perry converted a 40 yard penalty for his team Rajnigandha Achievers. However, Manuel F Llorente and Satinder Garcha of Garcha Group-Aravali Polo scored one goal each for their team.

In the end of the second chukker, the score was 4 goals to 2 in favour of Rajnigandha Achievers. In the third chukker, Garcha Group-Aravali Polo could not score any goal, whereas Matthew Perry scored two goals and one goal by teammate Hurr Ali. Rajnigandha Achievers could not find any goal in the final chukker, whereas Manuel F Llorente converted a 30 yard penalty and one field goal and Satinder Garcha added one for Garcha Group-Aravali Polo.

At the end of the fourth and final chukker the score was 7 goals to 5 ½ in favour of Rajnigandha Achievers.

The inaugural Brig VP Singh Memorial COA Polo Cup was also played after the finals of Cavalry Gold Cup. The match was played between Cavaliers and Lancers in which Cavaliers beat the Lancers by 4 goals to 3 and lift the inaugural trophy. Scores for Cavaliers were – Col Ravi Rathore, VSM (01), Dhruvpal Godara (02) and Lt Col Vishal Chauhan (01). Scores for Lancers were – Basheer Ali (03).

Team MP

Team MP

Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it