Legendary songstress honoured

Asha Bhosle - The voice of Bollywood – was conferred with 26th P C Chandra Puraskaar to celebrate excellence in the field of music. The award has always felicitated achievers from various walks of life.

PC Chandra Group, one of the largest business conglomerates in Eastern India, on the occasion of celebrating their 26th year of honoring excellence, conferred P.C.Chandra Puraskaar 2018 to the Voice of Bollywood, Asha Bhosle, who has a memorable musical career spanning nearly seven decades. The event took place at Science City auditorium recently.
Sharmila Tagore, the veteran actor and the Chief Guest for the evening, presented the award to Bhosle. A.K Chandra, Managing Director, P.C. Chandra Group, Amitava Chandra, Deputy Managing Director, P.C. Chandra Jewellers and Prosenjit Chandra, Director, P.C. Chandra Jewellers were present to welcome the dignitaries on the dais and also to address the media.
Bhosle is known for her breathtaking range and versatility, having recorded every possible style of music ranging from films to Indian classical, folk music, pop songs, ghazals, and bhajans. She made her singing debut in 1943 and has been contributing to the industry selflessly for almost seven decades. The lady with Dadasaheb Phalke Award (2000) and the Padma Vibhushan (2008) is a global figure, who has been tagged as the 'most recorded artist in music history' by the Guinness Book of World Records. Her work has touched almost every corner of the world.
Introduced in the year 1993 as a tribute to the founding father of the P. C. Chandra Group, late Purna Chandra Chandra, The P. C. Chandra Puraskaar has always recognized people from various walks of life who have achieved great heights in their respective fields. Some of the recipients include Manna De (1993) followed by Professor U R Rao (1994), Sunil M Gavaskar (1995), P.T. Usha (2004), Mrinal Sen (2008), Gulzaar Saab (1997), Ustad Bismillah Khan Saheb (2002), Anju Bobby George (2007), Sourav Ganguly (2011), Hema Malini (2013), Pandit Hari Prasad Chaurasia (2014), Dr. K. Radhakrishnan (2015), Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand (2016), Noble Laureate Kailash Satyarthi (2017).
The award 'P.C. Chandra Puraskaar' carries an honorarium of Rupees Ten lacs which is tax exempted.
Speaking on the occasion, Amitava Chandra said, "Our founding father the late Purna Chandra Chandra always inculcated the virtue of excellence in us. We strive to achieve excellence in whatever we do – be it the designs, workmanship, customer relations etc. The Puraskaar has always felicitated the greatest of greats from every walk of life. This year also we are very happy to honour Asha Bhosle. Her songs are omnipresent in our lives and define every experience of our lives. In the 26th year of the Puraskaar, we celebrate excellence in the field of music."
Every year a merit scholarship is given to the children of the employees for academic excellence and a long service award to veteran employees for their loyalty and service.
This is an effort by the group to celebrate the people who have worked relentlessly and are the real torchbearers of its success and growth.
The P. C. Chandra Group has always been a socially responsible corporate. The Group's consistent effort in forwarding a helping hand to educational and medical institutions; promoting cultural and sporting activities, propagating change to green environment and empowering women.
Through this event the P.C. Chandra Group reinforces its corporate philosophy and internal culture of trust, quality, and honesty. By felicitating a personality who has emerged as an icon in his respective vocational field, the Group hopes to inspire and encourage excellence in all walks of life.
The evening also saw soulful performances by notable singers, Lopamudra Mitra & Rupankar Bagchi who created magic with their voice and enthralled the guests and audience with their outstanding performances.
Team MP

Team MP

Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it