Millennium Post

Fate of Modi, Sonia, Jaitley will be decided today

Fate of Modi, Sonia, Jaitley will be decided today
According to the Election Commission, all arrangements have been made for polling in 89 Lok Sabha constituencies across 7 states and two union territories as well as 119 assembly seats in
Andhra Pradesh.

During this round of polling, voters would decide the fate of Congress president Sonia Gandhi, BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi and Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley. While Modi is being challenged by senior Congress leader Madhusudan Mistry in Vadodra in Gujarat, in Amritsar former Punjab chief minister Capt Amarinder Singh is taking on Jaitley.

In addition to Modi and Jaitley, the other prominent BJP leaders facing the test on Wednesday are party president Rajnath Singh, former deputy prime minister LK Advani, former union ministers Murli Manohar Joshi and Uma Bharti. Union ministers Sriprakash Jaiswal of the Congress and Farooq Abdullah of the National Conference too are in the fray. Longtime adversary of Modi, former Gujarat CM Shankarsinh Vaghela, and veteran parliamentarian Sharad Yadav of the JD(U) would also face the test on Wednesday.

While the fight in several states has turned multi-cornered with the rise of the regional parties, the two states of Punjab and Gujarat, which will have single phase polling on Wednesday, will witness a direct battle between the principal rivals, the Congress and the BJP-led alliance.

Polling will begin at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm except in some Maoist-dominated sensitive areas in Bihar and Andhra Pradesh where it will end at 4 pm. In some other areas in Andhra Pradesh, polling will end at 5 pm. The Lok Sabha constituencies going to polls on Wednesday are all 26 in Gujarat, 17 of the Telangana region in Andhra Pradesh, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, all 13 in Punjab, 9 in West Bengal, 7 in Bihar and one each in Jammu and Kashmir and the union territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.
Next Story
Share it