Fall in line, says Mamata to aggrieved TMC workers

Fall in line, says Mamata to  aggrieved TMC workers
Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee warned that infighting over selection of candidates will not be tolerated. This comes after a section of party supporters staged agitation over selection of candidates in some of the Assembly constituencies.

After unveiling the list of candidates on Friday, Banerjee stated that the party’s core committee had prepared the list. Earlier, she had directed party members to stop infighting and has asked them to take initiative in projects taken up for the development of the state.

On Saturday morning, some supporters of the party staged a demonstration and blocked a road at Mourigram and its adjacent areas demanding change of the candidate from Howrah South Assembly constituency. The sitting MLA Brojamohan Majumdar’s name has been declared by the party as a candidate for the constituency.

Some supporters, who are known to be close to the local Trinamool Congress leader Massod Alam Khan, started the demonstration. They blocked the road which affected the traffic movement. They even blocked the gate of the depot of the Indian Oil at Mourigram. The oil-tankers were not allowed to come out of the depot for a few hours.

Arup Roy, the party’s district president, said, “People who are creating such a chaos cannot be members of Trinamool Congress. These leaders do not deserve a chance to fight in the election. Moreover, it is the decision of the party to nominate Majumdar, a national teacher, as candidate from Howrah South Assembly constituency.” Similar, stray incidents took place at Mayureswar Asembly constituency in Birbhum and Khragpur Assembly constituency. In Mayureswar, supporters of the party leader Jotileswar Mondal raised slogans against the decision of announcing the name of Avijit Roy as the candidate from the constituency.

Supporters of the party leader Debashis Chowdhury gathered outside the party’s office at Kharagpur Sadar Assembly constituency and they protested against selecting Ramaprasad Tewari as the candidate from the constituency. They protested stating that Tewari is not a resident of the area.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it