Millennium Post

Elaborate measures in place for trouble-free Counting Day

With just seven days away for the counting of votes in 294 Assembly constituencies in West Bengal on May 19, the Election Commission has taken elaborate measures to ensure trouble free announcement of results on that day.

Sunil Kumar Gupta, Chief Electoral Officer on Wednesday held a high level meeting with the officials and discussed about the last minute arrangements.

Seventy four companies of Central Forces along with state and city police personnel were guarding 312 strong rooms where the EVMs have been kept. There are 90 counting centres. There will be three tier security cover on the date of counting and subsequent announcement of results.

Netaji Indoor stadium will be the counting centre for seven Assembly constituencies in North Kolkata. 
They are Chowringhee, Entally, Beleghata, Jorasanko, Shyampukur, Maniktala and Cossipore- Belgachia. The counting centre for Kolkata Port constituency is St Thomas Boys’ School. Sakwahat Memorial Government Girls High School will house the counting centre for Bhowanipore seat and Ballygunge Government High School will be the counting centre for Rashbehari seat.

The counting of Ballygunge Assembly seat will be held at David Hare Training College. Gitanjali Stadium at Rajdanga will house the counting  centres for Kasba and Jadavpur seats. 

The counting centres for Tollygunge and Behala West will be Hastings House. Bratachari Bridhashrom, Thakurpukur will be the counting centre for Behala East seat.

Bidhannagar College will be the counting centres for Bidhannagar and Rajarhat- Gopalpur seats.
Sonarpur College will be counting centre of Bhangar Assembly constituency. The counting centres for Khardah, North Dum Dum, Panihati, Kamarhati and Baranagore will be Guru Nanak Dental College. For Nandigram, the counting centre will be Halia Government Sponsored Secondary School.

Gupta told officials to ensure that all possible steps are taken to conduct the counting peacefully.
Next Story
Share it