Millennium Post

Drive to ensure ‘clean’ gurdwara managements

Drive to ensure ‘clean’ gurdwara managements
In a bid to improve the management of gurdwaras and free them from political interference, many Sikh organisations and the ‘Peace Committee’ of Gurdwara Rakabganj has started a campaign in the capital.

The committee has also urged Sikh voters to elect good candidates in the Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee, which runs the management of various gurdwaras and educational institutions in the capital.

The prime objective of this campaign, ‘Gurudwara Sudhar Lehar’, is to ensure that people with clean image should become members of Management Committees and administration of gurudwaras should be run in a proper manner without any violence and corruption.

Sikh organisations and Sewa Jathas would be involved in this campaign, said H S Phoolka, Convener of the Peace Committee of Gurdwara Rakabganj.

He said Sikhs should not feel helpless over deterioration of gurudwara management and should make efforts not to elect politicians alone in running the gurdwara managements.

In this regard, the Committee members have also urged Sikhs not to elect ‘dubious’ persons in the forthcoming election of Delhi Sikh Gurudwara Management Committee (DSGMC).

The Committee members urged Sikhs to vote for candidates who have offered their selfless services to society and urged various parties in the fray not to field professional politicians in the polls.

It has also urged parties to give preference to youth and women with good track record who do not have any past criminal record or questionable character.

The Peace Committee has also urged voters to consider the services offered by families of candidates towards humanity. Besides, those members who have taken money for casting their votes in elections of the President should not be given ticket, the committee said.

The committee members include scholar Jaswant Singh Neki, ex-CBI director Joginder Singh, artist Bibi Ajeet Caur, IGNOU professor Amarjit Singh Narang, former diplomat K C Singh, Maj Gen Manpreet Singh Chadha, Wg Cdr R S Chhatwal, writer Maheep Singh and painter Arpana Caur.
Next Story
Share it