Millennium Post

Dhoni wins 100th ODI as skipper

Dhoni wins 100th ODI as skipper
MS Dhoni achieved the memorable milestone of recording 100 ODI wins as captain after leading India to a resounding victory against Bangladesh in the World Cup quarterfinal on Thursday. Dhoni is the first non-Australian captain to achieve the feat, in his 178th ODI, as he got past South Africa’s Hansie Cronje, who won 99 ODIs as captain. Ricky Ponting, with 165 ODI wins as skipper, and Allan Border (107) are the two Australian greats leading the chart in the 50-over format.

Dhoni, who remains the only captain to win all three ICC tournaments, World T20 (2007), World Cup (2011) and Champions Trophy (2013), has also recorded 11 straight wins, including four in the last edition, in the showpiece event and is only second to Australia’s winning streak of 24 games under Ponting (21) and Steve Waugh (3).

The Jharkhand hero has also registered the highest number of knockout wins (9) in ICC tournaments. He has gone past Ponting’s 8 wins. After being appointed captain of a young side in 2007, Dhoni has attained great heights in international cricket, even taking India to the top of Test rankings.

Mortaza suspended for slow over-rate
Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza’s World Cup woes continued even after his team’s quarterfinal exit as the medium-pacer was handed a one-match suspension and slapped with a fine for his team’s slow over-rate. Mortaza, whose team was found guilty of bowling two overs short in the stipulated time to complete their quota of 50 overs against India, was found to repeat the offence twice after being fined in the England game for a minor over-rate offence.

Match referee Roshan Mahanama subsequently not only docked 40 per cent of his match fee but also suspended him from one match after their 109-run loss to India at the MCG. The team players were also fined 20 per cent of their match fee. Mortaza pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction.
Next Story
Share it