Millennium Post

Despite rumour-mongering, TMC wins all eleven seats in Kolkata

A general notion that many of the so-called “elite and high brow” Kolkatans are against Mamata Banerjee because of various reasons was proved to be absolutely baseless after it was found that they have given their verdict in favour of Trinamool Congress nominees in all the 11 seats.

These people got swayed by the canards spread by the Opposition along with a section of the media with vested interest that even Mamata Banerjee was going to lose in Bhowanipore. The mud-slinging and character assassination of Banerjee was escalated so much that people did not like it and voted against the Opposition. Also majority of people appreciated the way Mamata Banerjee braving excessive heat visited all the 294 constituencies and addressed people. The people also appreciated that development had taken place in West Bengal and at the same time the multi-crore Saradha scam and the Narada sting operation had failed to influence the voters of Kolkata. Also, the collapse of a portion of Vivekananda Road flyover had failed to create any impact as the sitting TMC candidate Smita Bakshi defeated Rahul Sinha of BJP by 6,290 votes. 

Mamata Banerjee defeated her nearest rival Deepa Das Munshi of Congress by 25,301 votes. Firhad Hakim won by 26,548 votes. Subrata Mukherjee and Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay have won by 15,225 votes and 14,553 votes respectively. The Opposition and a section of media had even said that a meeting of the alliance had taken place in the house of Mukherjee after the fourth phase of the election. The Opposition also spread the rumour that if TMC come to power by slender margin then Mukul Roy will help the winning candidates to join the alliance.

Shashi Panja was elected from Shyampukur seat by 13,155 votes. Mala Saha defeated Koninika Ghosh of CPI(M) by 25,810 votes from Kashipur- Belgachia constituency. Swarnakamal Saha and Sadhan Pandey retained their seats by defeating their rivals by 27,988 votes and 25,311 votes respectively. Paresh Pal won from the Beliaghata seat by 26, 179 votes. Somen Mitra of Congress was defeated by Nayana Bandopadhyay by 14, 216 votes.

Next Story
Share it