Millennium Post

Despite Kiwi showing, Indian eves still last

Despite Kiwi showing, Indian eves still last
Irrespective of their 3-2 win over New Zealand in the five-match series, India continues to languish at the bottom of the ICC Women’s Championship table issued on <g data-gr-id="20">Thursday .</g>

Despite the loss, New Zealand moved up two places to joint fourth following its 2-1 win in the three Championship games that were played at the start of the series in Bangalore.

The White Ferns went into the series second from bottom on four points, but has now leapfrogged Sri Lanka and England and has risen to fifth, a fraction behind Pakistan. India has gained two points but remains rooted to the bottom of the table on five points, marginally below Sri Lanka when net run rates are factored in.

In the final matches in round three England will host early pace-setters Australia later this month as Charlotte Edwards’ side bid to climb the table. England goes into the series knowing that a 3-0 series victory would move it to the top of the <g data-gr-id="18">table,</g> while Australia can extend its lead with a series win.

The ICC Women’s Championship is a qualifying tournament for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 and is being participated in by Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies. The top four sides from the ICC Women’s Championship will gain automatic qualification for the event which is to be staged in England, while the bottom four sides will get a final chance of qualification through the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in 2017.

The structure sees each team will play each other in one home or away series that will include three ODIs over a two and a half year period. As such, each side is guaranteed at least 21 ODIs over the tournament period.



Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it