Millennium Post

Nomination of NSUI's presidential candidate scrapped, says DU official

NEW DELHI: Delhi University Chief Election Officer SH Babbar on Thursday clarified that the name of National Students' Union of India's presidential candidate for the DU Students' Union (DUSU) election was scrapped on grounds of disciplinary action.
NSUI's Rocky Tusser's name was on Wednesday found missing from the list of presidential candidates for the DUSU polls.
Babbar said: "There was one incident of disciplinary action against Rocky Tusser in Shivaji College. He was banned from entering the college in 2014. Lyngdoh Committee guidelines stipulate that no candidate should have a case of any disciplinary action against him."
The list of presidential candidates contained the names Rajat Chaudhary of the Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and All India Students' Union's Parul Chauhan.
Babbar said that the Lyngdoh Committee's guidelines "do not further delineate any qualification with respect to a lapsing period, after which the disciplinary action can be deemed to be annulled".
"It is just one sentence. It does not come with any more riders. The student group (NSUI) submitted its complaint saying that Tusser was even elected president of the Buddhist department and no Lyngdoh rule was evoked against him then," said Babbar.
Babbar said that after NSUI's complaint, authorities held legal consultation late Wednesday night and decided to stand by their decision.
The officer added that Tusser was also found guilty of giving false information (perjury) in his nomination affidavit.
NSUI, in a press release, said that the Chief Election Officer for DUSU polls has acted in an extremely arbitrary manner to reject the nomination of four DUSU presidential candidates. After intervention, three nominations were accepted, while that of Tusser continues to be rejected.
Meanwhile, on Thursday, the Congress affiliated students' outfit said it had nominated Alka, a student of Shaheed Bhagat Singh College, after Tusser's nomination was rejected.
The nomination of rest of NSUI's candidates, namely Kunal Sehrawat for vice-president, Meenakshi Meena for secretary and Avinash Yadav for joint secretary, remains the same.
Alka had earlier filed her nomination as an Independent candidate.
Next Story
Share it