Millennium Post

Majlis Park–South Campus section a boon for DU students

New Delhi: The 21.56 km-long section of Delhi Metro's Pink Line, stretching from Majlis Park to Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus stations, will significantly boost connectivity between north Delhi, Ring Road and south Delhi localities, such as RK Puram, Satya Niketan and Moti Bagh.
This section of the Pink Line – which will be inaugurated on March 14 at 4.00 pm by Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal – will prove a boon for commuters, especially students.
Till now, students had to travel either by road from the North Campus or take the Airport Express Metro till Dhaula Kuan and commute again on road.
The North Campus area of Delhi University already has a metro station - Vishwavidyalaya, which falls on the Yellow Line that connects Samaypur Badli to Huda City Centre in Gurugram.
"The two DU campuses are now connected to each other on the Delhi Metro network for the first time. It will help in cutting travel time for commuters, but benefit the students particularly, who had to travel mostly by road till now," a senior official of the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) said.
Executive Director, Corporate Communications at the DMRC, Anuj Dayal said, "From Vishwavidyalaya metro station to Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus station, it will take around 40 minutes, including time for interchange at Azadpur station."
The section has 12 stations,namely Majlis Park, Azadpur, Shalimar Bagh, Netaji Subhash Place, Shakurpur, Punjabi Bagh West, ESI Hospital, Rajouri Garden, Mayapuri, Naraina Vihar, Delhi Cantt and Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus. All the stations are equipped with platform-screen doors.
New generation driverless trains will also run on this section, where an advanced Communication Based Train Control (CBTC) signalling technology will facilitate movement of trains with a frequency of 90 to 100 seconds.
However, for an initial period of two-three years the trains will have drivers.
"Initially, trains will be operated with a frequency of 3 minutes and 28 seconds between South Campus and Shakurpur stations during peak time and 4 minutes during off-peak hours.
"Between Shakurpur and Majlis Park stations it will ply with a frequency of 5 minutes and 12 seconds during peak time and 6 minutes during off-peak hours," the DMRC said.
A total of 19 trains will operate in the entire section, it said.
"For the first time, travelators have been installed at the foot over bridges to facilitate interchange at Rajouri Garden and South Campus stations," the DMRC official said.
The new Netaji Subhash Place station, which is semi-underground, has been tastefully decorated with 36 artworks on walls.
Moreover, for the first time, ceiling fans have been installed at Azadpur Metro station to avoid suffocation due to increased rush at peak hours and in summer.
The 21.56 km-long corridor will also reduce metro travel time between Dwarka 21 (Blue Line) and Rithala (Red Line) by over 16 minutes; and Rajouri Garden and Azadpur by nearly 23 minutes, the DMRC said.
Next Story
Share it