Millennium Post

LG clears proposal to create Dwarka police district

NEW DELHI: To strengthen law and order in the national Capital, Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal has given the nod to a proposal to create Dwarka as a separate police district, which will take the number of police districts to 14.

Last year, two new police districts -- Rohini and Shahdara -- were created. Dwarka police district will be carved out from the existing southwest and outer districts.
The Dwarka district will comprise Dabri, Dwarka, Chhawla and Najafgarh sub-divisions. The decision was taken to ensure speedy resolution of cases and reduce crime rate, said an official.
Some other changes have also been effected in the police administration. Greater Kailash police station that fell under the southeast district has been made a part of the Defence Colony sub-division in south district.
Vasant Vihar sub-division, which was under the South district, will now be a part of South West district.

Next Story
Share it