Millennium Post

Harsh Vardhan, Manoj Tiwari and Parvesh Verma file nominations

New Delhi: Union Minister Harsh Vardhan filed his nomination papers for the Chandni Chowk seat, with the Returning Officer of his constituency, on Monday.

Delhi BJP chief Monaj Tiwari and sitting MP Parvesh Verma, both of whom have been fielded again in 2019 also filed their nomination papers for the North-East and West Delhi constituencies respectively.

On their way to filing papers, Vardhan and other candidates took out roadshows as a show of strength. Vardhan who currently holds the Science and Technology portfolio among others was joined by Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

Touching all the points set out by the party, speaking at his roadshow, Vardhan said that BJP stands for growth and public welfare and will always focus on the security and happinness of all Indians.

He also took a chance to slam opposition parties, saying, "Opposition parties fear that once Narendra Modi becomes Prime Minister again, they will have to go to jail and rot there."

The BJP had announced candidates for four seats in the national capital late on Sunday evening and had retained sitting MPs including Ramesh Bidhuri from South Delhi, who according to sources will file his papers soon.

While Vardhan enjoyed the support of BJP heavyweights like Gadkari, Verma was joined by Defense Minister Nirmala Sitharaman at his roadshow on the way to filing papers.

On the other hand, rebel AAP MLA Kapil Mishra and Haryanvi singer-dancer Sapna Choudhary accompanied Tiwari on his roadshow in the North-East Delhi constituency.

BJP was late to announce its candidates in Delhi, with AAP announcing their candidates months ago, even as there were talks of an alliance with Congress, which announced candidates for six seats on Monday morning.

Now, Chandni Chowk will be fought between Vardhan (BJP), JP Agarwal (Congress), and Pankaj Gupta (AAP); whereas in North-East Delhi, the battle will be between state BJP chief Tiwari, Congress stalwart Sheila Dikshit, and AAP's Dilip Pandey.

West Delhi will see a fight between Mahabal Mishra (Congress), Balbir Singh Jakhar (AAP), and sitting MP Parvesh Verma (BJP).

BJP is yet to announce its candidate for North-West Delhi seat, whereas the Congress announced Vijender Singh as its candidate for South Delhi constituency.

Next Story
Share it