Millennium Post

GB Nagar's 14.88 lakh voters to cast their votes on April 11

GB Nagars 14.88 lakh voters to cast their votes on April 11

GB Nagar: The Gautam Buddh Nagar district administration, on Monday, released a full polling schedule of 17th Lok Sabha elections to be held in seven phases, beginning from April 11. The administration has said that 14.88 lakh voters will go to poll in the district in the first phase itself.

As per a senior official of District administration, the voting in Gautam Buddh Nagar District will be done in 1,536 polling stations across the constituency which will have facilities of drinking water and toilets.

"Voters of Gautam Buddh Nagar District will go to poll on April 11. The notification in the district would be issued on March 18 while the nominations can be made till March 25. Any candidate can withdraw their candidature till March 28. However the results will be out on May 23," said Brijesh Narain Singh, District Magistrate, Gautam Buddh Nagar.

Detailing on the voters who have been added to the voter

list this year, the officer said that the voter ID cards will be issued to the new voters within one week.

"A total of 1 lakh 33 thousand voters have been added to the voter list this year and they will be distributed their voter identity card with their photograph within one week," added Singh.

The officer further said that the district administration has set up a 24*7 election control room while a special committee with cyber experts will also keep a tab on social media to check any violation of the model code of conduct.

"We are keeping a close watch on any type of violation while a team of social media experts will supervise the Media Certification and Monitoring Committee (MCMC). We appeal to people that

social media must be used for raising awareness related to

elections and not spreading unverified information," the Magistrate said.

The officer further said that the guidelines of model code of conduct were being implemented strictly in Gautam Buddh Nagar constituency, which comprises Noida, Jewar and Dadri assembly areas as well as Bulandshar's Khurja and Sikandrabad assembly areas. However the total voters' count of 14.88 lakh is excluding of Khurja and Sikandrabad.

Meanwhile the massive 24-hours drive undertaken by the Gautam Buddh Nagar district administration after the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) came into effect on Sunday, the concerned authorities removed over 3,600 election-related banners, hoardings and wall paintings from public spaces across the district.

Next Story
Share it