Millennium Post

Delhi govt may continue subsidy on power tariff

Delhi govt may continue subsidy on power tariff

NEW DELHI: Delhi government may continue power tariff subsidy in 2019-20 budget. Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia will table Delhi budget on Tuesday next.

The scheme was first introduced during 49 days' govt of AAP in 2014 and later after coming to power in 2015, it was rolled out properly. Chief Minster Arvind Kejriwal had announced a flat 50 per cent subsidy for people consuming less than 400 units a month and thereby benefiting most of Clusters domicles and middle-income households across the city.

Presently, domestic category users pay Rs 4 per unit up to 200 units, Rs 5.95 between 201-400 units, Rs 7.3 between 401-800 units, Rs 8.1 between 801-1,200 and Rs 8.75 per unit for consumption above 1,200 units. Non-domestic users are charged Rs 8.8 per unit for a connection up to 10kW load, Rs 8.50 per unit between 10 and 140kW and Rs 9.95 for above 140kW.

"There is a major relief to lower middle-income as well as Resettlement residents, who are consuming power below 4000 per unit per month. In the last four years, there has been no increase in power tariff in Delhi," said Chief Minister spokesperson.

At present, there are about 37.28 lakh of domestic electricity consumers in Delhi, which is 82.84 per cent of total domestic consumers, who are getting electricity at half of the applicable power tariff compared to five years ago.

"The Delhi is only Metropolitan city, where the power being supplied at the cheapest rate and without loadshedding. It is not enough that the Delhi Electricity Regularity Commission (DERC) has reduced power tariff charges for domestic users for last year," said Delhi Power officials. In the last year, Delhi Cabinet had also approved the special subsidy for lawyers using chambers within the premises of Court complexes. In the Delhi, Six district Courts Premises chambers. The lawyers chambers being treated as domestic consumers ( earlier lawyers were being charged on commericial rates for their chambers electricity bills).

Under the current tariff regime, consumers are divided into 12 categories, including domestic, non-domestic, industrial and agricultural.

Next Story
Share it