Millennium Post

Delhi BJP MPs observe fast to show solidarity with PM

New Delhi: To express solidarity with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, all seven BJP MPs from Delhi and several Delhi BJP leaders on Thursday observed a day-long fast here.
Delhi BJP MPs Manoj Tiwari, Harsh Vardhan, Ramesh Bidhuri, Maheish Girri, Parvesh Verma, Udit Raj and Meenakshi Lekhi observed fast in their respective constituencies.
Tiwari, the Delhi BJP president and North East Delhi MP, continued his fast as an indefinite hunger strike to protest against the politically-biased denial of development funds by the Delhi government to his constituency.
Addressing a large gathering at the fast site, Tiwari said that it is sad that politically rejected Congress and other opposition parties stalled the working of Parliament in the budget session.
The government managed to complete important business transactions.
PM Narendra Modi has set a precedent by deciding to forego salary of ruling NDA MPs for the 23 lost days of Parliament work.
From now on, this should become a rule that Parliamentarians will not get salary when the House is stalled and the Opposition Parties need to take a lesson from this.
Meenakshi Lekhi said, "We have dedicated today's fast to establishing development and constructive politics in the country. We pledge to work for the fulfillment of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's dream to make India the 'Vishwa Guru'."
She sat with party workers and observed fast at the ancient Hanuman Mandir complex at Connaught Place.
West Delhi MP Parvesh Verma observed fast alongwith SDMC Mayor Kamaljeet Sehrawat.
Next Story
Share it