Millennium Post

Reshuffle in Delhi Police top brass

More than half a dozen police officers have been transferred in Delhi, with senior IPS officer Mukesh Kumar Meena being relieved from the Delhi Police.
Ajay Chaudhary, a 1996-batch IPS officer, will be assuming charge as joint commissioner of police, New Delhi range, in an order issued by the Lieutenant Governor's office.
Despite being promoted to the rank of a special commissioner last year, Meena was looking after the charge of joint commissioner of police, New Delhi range.
Chaudhary, who is currently posted as an OSD (officer on special duty) to Delhi L-G Anil Baijal, will be assuming the charge of the joint commissioner of police, New Delhi range.
Meena will be relieved from the Delhi Police and has been appointed as special commissioner of police, Anti-Corruption Branch (ACB).
He was appointed to the ACB in 2015, a move that had led to a tussle between the then L-G Najeeb Jung and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.
The ACB is investigating the PWD scam, in which one of the FIRs is registered against a firm belonging to Kejriwal's late relative Surender Kumar Bansal and the tanker scam, among other important cases.
Among other transfers, T N Mohan, special commissioner of police, general administration, has been tasked to head the police's vigilance wing.
Rajesh Malik, a 1986-batch IPS officer, who was posted in Andaman and Nicobar Islands will be returning to Delhi to replace Mohan.
After Amulya Patnaik, who was heading police's vigilance wing, assumed charge as Delhi police commissioner, Mohan was looking after the vigilance wing.
Atul Katiyar, a 1997-batch IPS officer, will be assuming charge of the joint commissioner of police, special branch.
K Jegadesan and Narendra Singh Bundela have been appointed as joint commissioners of police of Training and Headquarters, respectively.
Gaurav Sharma and Ved Prakash Surya have been appointed as additional deputy commissioners of police of southwest and Shahdara districts respectively.
Next Story
Share it