Home > Delhi > Kamaljeet Sehrawat takes over as SDMC Mayor

Kamaljeet Sehrawat takes over as SDMC Mayor

 Anup Verma |  2017-05-19 19:28:03.0  |  New Delhi

Kamaljeet Sehrawat takes over as SDMC Mayor

Reiterating Prime Minister Modi's Digital India Mission and Swachh Bharat Abhiyan, newly-elected South Delhi Mayor Kamaljeet Sehrawat on Friday resolved to give priority to sanitation and e-governance.

On Thursday, North Delhi Mayor Preeti Aggarwal had made similar resolutions, while presiding over the first house session of the North Delhi Municipal Corporation.

Sehrawat, a BJP councillor from Dwarka-B (Ward 38) of South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC), told reporters on Friday that she will focus on strengthening sanitation infrastructure and e-governance methods, with an aim to promote the Prime Minister's initiative.

Sehrawat said: "The Corporation had already installed fixed computer with additional fleet for a clean city. We are going to introduce special drive at ward level for making city clean and beautiful."

Sehrawat added that SDMC will take forward the vision of e-governance and said that the civic body already has started issuing birth and death certificates online.

Online management of unauthorised construction complaints and online issuance of health trade licences are also being worked upon by the Corporation.

Sehrawat also assured that people will not have to walk up to the Civic Centre for reddressal of their grievances, which will be now taken care of through social media, such as Facebook and Twitter.

Also from the BJP, Bhupender Gupta was elected as chairman of the Standing Committe, while Shikha Rai, Nandani Sharma and Tulsi Joshi elected as members. Councillor Poorva had withdrawn her nomination, while Congress' Andrews Ganj councillor Abhishek Dutt and AAP councillor from Hastsal ward Ashok Kumar were also elected.

Last year, Janakpuri councillor Shyam Sharma of the BJP was elected as mayor after defeating Praveen Rana of the Congress by a margin of 25 votes. Sharma had secured 62 votes out of total 99 valid votes polled.

Out of the total 104 wards under the SDMC that had gone to polls, the BJP won 70, the AAP 16 and the Congress 12. One ward each was won by the SP and the INLD, while four independent candidates emerged victorious.

The AAP and Congress have continuously attacked the BJP-led corporations, alleging that the three civic bodies have turned the city into a "mound of garbage".

Anup Verma

Anup Verma

Millennium Post Contributors help bring you the latest news around you.

Share it