Millennium Post

Crack Haryana seats Gurugram & Faridabad brace for counting

Gururgam: Moment of truth will finally arrive for nearly 3.5 million voters of Gururgam and Faridabad as they will come to know on Thursday that who is going to represent these two cities in the Parliament.

Gurugram and Faridabad are two of the largest and richest constituencies in the state of Haryana.

The counting of votes will begin at 8:00 am on Thursday. In order to ensure transparency however it is expected that the entire process of counting will take at least 12 hours and the results of the winning candidate will only be declared in the late evening.

The process will first begin with the counting of the postal ballots.

Later, after obtaining the ascent of the polling agents, the actual counting of votes will be done. After the entire process, the winning candidate will go to the district mini secretariat where he will take the winning form from the deputy commissioner Amit Khatri.

The counting of votes in Gurugram will be done at the Rajkiya Kanya Vidyalaya in Sector-14 in the presence of five election observers.

To make sure that the security situation in the voting centre is satisfactory the deputy commissioner, as well as the police commissioner, are inspecting the location on a regular basis.

Gurugram Lok Sabha constituency has 9 assembly seats. Badshapur which has the largest share of votes in the Gurugram constituency will have 25 rounds of voting while Punhana that has the least voting share will have a total of 14 rounds of voting.

A total of 1,194 polling stations spread across nine Assembly segments in three districts -- Gurgaon (4), Rewari (2) and Nuh (3). This time there were 24 candidates in fray.

The contest in Gurugram is mainly between sitting BJP MP Rao Inderjit Singh and Captain Ajay Singh Yadav of the Congress. Also in the fray are Mehmood Khan of the Jannayak Janata Party-Aam Aadmi Party alliance and Virender Rana of the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD).

Next Story
Share it