Millennium Post

BJP gets six independents, will soon appoint Ggn Mayor

Gurugram: After the results of the Gurugram civic polls were declared on Sunday, a large number of leaders from the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) expressed their disappointment over the outcome. Even as the party failed to obtain majority it can now take solace from the fact that significant posts in the civic body like the Mayor and Deputy Mayor can now be from the saffron brigade.
On Wednesday, six victorious independents met the senior BJP leader and Union Minister Rao Inderjeet Singh and conveyed their interest of joining the ruling party.
These councillors are Dinesh Saini, Naveen Dahiya, Rajni Sahni, Ashwini Sharma, Sunita Yadav and Kulddep Bohra.
With this, the total tally of BJP has increased from 14 to 20 councillors that is way above the majority mark of 18. In what can be even better situation for the party, sources indicate that five more independents that are from Rao Narbir Singh camp may soon amalgamate with it in a day or two.
With large number of candidates expressing their discontent over how their prospects of winning was jeopardised due to internal subversions, the party has entrusted responsibility to its Ahirwal leaders to get the majority.
"There should not be any delay in the formation of mayor and other important posts. We are now in the comfortable position to stake a claim over these official posts," said Rao Inderjeet Singh. There is a greater possibility of Madhu Azad who was victorious from ward -7 may be the next Mayor of Gurugram.
The ability to get the independents in its fold has again increased the political influence of Rao Narbir Singh and Rao Inderjeet Singh. While most of the councillors that have won from the BJP belong from the Rao Narbir Singh camp, interestingly, the sizable numbers of independents who have won support of Rao Inderjeet Singh.
Singh, who is the MLA from Badshahpur constituency, is the state PWD minister in ML Khattar's government.
Next Story
Share it