Millennium Post

BJP announces names of new Mayors, Deputy Mayors for all three corporations

New Delhi: The Delhi unit of Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday announced the names of candidates for the post of mayor, deputy mayor and other office-bearers for the three municipal corporations in the city.
Narendra Chawla (South Delhi Municipal Corporation), Adesh Kumar Gupta (North Delhi Municipal Coporation) and Bipin Bihari Singh (East Delhi Municipal Corporation) have been announced as the candidates for the mayoral polls next week that will be a mere formality in view of dominance of BJP councilors in the three Municipal Corporations.
The list of names were released by Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari.
The polls in SDMC would be held on April 26, while in North MCD and EDMC, it would be held on April 27.
The mayoral five-year tenure sees five single-year terms on a rotation basis, with the first year being reserved for women, the second open category, third for reserved category and the remaining two also being in open categories.
The incumbent mayors for the three civic bodies are Preety Agarwal (North MCD), Kamaljeet Sehrawat (SDMC) and Neema Bhagat (EDMC).
For the SDMC, Satya Pal Malik would be Deputy Mayor candidate, while Standing Committee Chairperson would be Shikha Rai and Deputy Chairperson Poonam Bhati. Outgoing Mayor Kamaljeet Sehrawat will be the Leader of the House.
The deliberative wing of North MCD will comprise Deputy Mayor Rajesh Lawadia, Standing Committee Chairperson Veena Virmani, Deputy Chairperson Nisha Mann, member Manish Chaudhary and Leader of House Tilak Raj Kataria.
In EDMC, Kiran Vaidh would be the Deputy Mayor, Standing Committee Chairman would be Satya Pal Singh, Deputy Chairman Romesh Chandra Gupta, member Sandip Kapoor and Leader of House Nirmal Jain.
Next Story
Share it