Millennium Post

ABVP, NSUI protest against assault on BHU women students

New Delhi: Several student political wings carried out demonstration against the baton-charge on women students of Banaras Hindu University (BHU) when they were agitating for action in a sexual harassment incident.
Following the brutal incident, the ABVP condemned the police action against the students and demanded constitution of a fact-finding committee, while the congress- backed NSUI demanded an inquiry under a sitting high court judge and resignation of the BHU vice-chancellor.
The two student political outfits had separately announced their plans to stage demonstrations outside the office of the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD). However, the NSUI claimed that its supporters were detained much ahead of the venue, while ABVP activists were allowed to reach the site. Meanwhile, Congress-affiliated student body accused Delhi Police of favouring the ABVP.
"Despite having all permissions, we were detained without citing any reason. This shows how Prime Minister Narendra Modi continues to use the police for curbing and stopping protests against him and his government," NSUI media in-charge Neeraj Mishra. He also criticised the ABVP and said its protest was "always about symbolism". Rejecting the NSUI's charge, ABVP national media convener Saket Bahuguna said on Twitter, "Those wondering why a protest at MHRD, should remember @ABVPVoice works for student community, not for any political party and we are proud of it."
On contacting to the Parliament street police station, SHO said, "Permission was not granted for any demonstration near the ministry and the students from both the parties were detained."
Meanwhile, another march was carried out by Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti, the Aam Aadmi Party's student wing, where more than 100 students took part. Another joint student protest was staged by students of JNU at Jantar Mantar. The protest consist the groups of Krantikari Yuva Sangathan, All India Democratic Women's Association, All India Progressive Women's Association, Pinjra Tod, National Federation of Indian Women among others.
Next Story
Share it