Home > Delhi > AAP releases fourth list of candidates for Municipal polls

AAP releases fourth list of candidates for Municipal polls

 Team MP |  2017-03-20 19:25:27.0  |  New Delhi

AAP releases fourth list of candidates for Municipal polls

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Monday released the fourth list of candidates for the upcoming Municipal Corporation of Delhi elections, which hold a special significance for the party.
After the electoral debacle in Punjab, AAP has decided put in all efforts to ensure victory in the civic polls.

The party has alleged that despite the timely release of the funds, North, South and

East Delhi Municipal corporations have failed to deliver basic amenities to the people of Delhi.

The party is also expecting that winning civic polls will further strengthen its hold over the national Capital, the party's sole bastion in the Country.

In an earlier development, the party had already released the list containing names of 248 candidates for the MCD polls.

The 14 wards for which for which candidates have been announced are: Delhi Gate (Matia Mahal Assembly constituency), Quraish Nagar (Balli Maran AC), Bawana (Bawan AC), Rohini-I (Rohini AC), Isapur (Najafgarh AC), Rohini-B (Rithala AC), Sultanpuri A, Sultanpuri A, Sultanpuri B, Sultanpuri C (all three in Sultanpur Majra AC), Dev Nagar (Karol Bagh AC), Ranjit Nagar (Patel Nagar AC), Inderpuri (Rajender Nagar AC), GTB Nagar (Timarpur) and Manglapuri (Dwarka).

It may be noted that the civic polls have turned into a question of prestige, as the Opposition parties have challenged the ruling party to repeat its performance in the 2015 Assembly elections, in which AAP – a new entrant – routed both the Bharatiya Janta Party and Congress.

AAP registered a stunning victory in 2015, winning 67 out of 70 Assembly seats in Delhi. While the BJP had to console itself with three Assembly seats, the Congress surprisingly drew a blank after having ruled the state for 15 years.

Share it