Millennium Post

AAP announces three candidates for Lok Sabha polls in Haryana

NEW DELHI: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Sunday announced its three candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Haryana. The AAP has been contesting the Lok Sabha elections in the State in a coalition with the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP), which is fighting in seven out of the ten seats in the Haryana.

The AAP has fielded its Haryana unit chief Naveen Jaihind from Faridabad; former Himachal Pradesh Director-General of Police (DGP) Prithvi Raj from Ambala; and advocate Krishan Kumar Agarwal from Karnal. The announcement was made by senior AAP leader and Haryana in-charge Gopal Rai in a joint press conference with JJP leader Dushyant Chautala at the party's Delhi office.

Born in a Dalit family in Haryana's Jagadhari, Raj was the DGP-Himachal Pradesh for six months before he retired in 2017. He has been actively involved in Dalit movements since his college days. Agarwal, a practising lawyer at the Panipat District and Sessions Court, has been part of the Jan Lok Pal movement.

Rai said the Congress was giving an impression that the AAP refused to form an alliance.

"But the fact is whichever seat sharing formula the Congress proposed we agreed to it in Haryana, Delhi and Chandigarh and even then they backtracked," he said.

Next Story
Share it