Millennium Post

29 corridors declared 'no tolerance zones' , roadside parking to cost dear

NEW DELHI: Taking stringent action against illegal parking in the national Capital, Delhi Traffic Police has identified as many as 29 corridors which will be labelled as 'No Tolerance Zone' for road side parking and encroachment, with effect from September 25.
A police official said that joint drives would be conducted by Delhi Traffic Police and Municipal Corporations of Delhi (MCD) for removal of encroachment and obstructive parking, under the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957 and the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988.
Owners of offending vehicles will be liable to enhanced fines and penalties specified in these Acts.
"Business establishments like car dealers, showrooms, commercial establishments, malls and shops etc. are advised not to park their vehicles on road and keep their vehicles within their premises on these roads. Private persons are also advised not to park their vehicles on these stretches and cooperate with Delhi Traffic Police" said Garima Bhatnagar, Joint Commissioner of Police, Traffic.
Some prominent 'no tolerance' roads will be Aurobindo Marg, Mathura road, Savitri flyover, Mehrauli-Badapur road, Sarita Vihar road, Mehrauli-Gurgaon road, Dhaula Kuan, Sardar Patel Marg, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk Marg, DBG road, New Rohtak road, Patel Road, Najafgarh road, Pankha road, GT road, Pusa road and Ring road among others.
Next Story
Share it