Millennium Post

Delhi lawyers strike work

Delhi lawyers strike work
City court lawyers on Monday struck work to protest against the government’s move to create two more revenue districts, affecting the working of six courts across Delhi, the bar association said, describing the move as wastage of public money.

The functioning of the courts was partially affected as the hearing of corruption cases related to 2G scam and Commonwealth Games [CWG] graft remain unaffected.

The co-ordination committee of the District Bar Association of Delhi said,  ‘Fifty thousand lawyers of Delhi have abstained from work and it was a complete strike in all the District Courts of Delhi.’

The chairman of the committee, R N Vats, said it was a successful strike, which was observed all over the city courts. Creation of two more revenue districts will increase the number of magisterial courts, waste public money and will be inconvenient to litigants, the lawyers said.

The lawyers said that creating two more revenue districts is an ‘arbitrary decision’ and will be a huge waste of public money.

President of Rohini court bar association, B S Rana said that there was a complete strike in Rohini district courts.

The strike paralysed work in six districts of courts of the capital, however, the Patiala House district court complex was partially affected by the strike.

According to Vinod Bhardwaj, general secretary of the co-ordination committee, there was a complete strike in the Karkardooma Court and all other district Courts. Bhardwaj said that the co-ordination committee will further decide their future course of action, like gherao of Delhi Secretariat and demonstration at the residence of chief minister [Sheila Dikshit] of Delhi, if the government does not change its decision.

Naresh C  Sharma and P S Singh, president and secretary of Dwarka Court Bar Association also stated that the strike was complete and lawyers have not even entered the court complex.

The Delhi government in July gave the given green signal to create two additional revenue districts in the east and north areas of the city.

The present setup of nine districts - along with 27 sub-divisions - came into existence from 1 January 1997.
Next Story
Share it