Millennium Post

Delhi in control after rain-hit day

Delhi extended their lead against Haryana to 224 runs on a curtailed day three of the Ranji Trophy Group B match at Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium on Wednesday. Delhi, resuming their second innings at seven for no loss, had reached 134 for five at stumps on a day when only 38 overs could be bowled due to bad light.

Sumit Narwal and Rajat Bhatia were in the middle on 13 and 1 respectively after skipper Gautam Gambhir struck a handy 46. Haryana’s seasoned medium pacer Joginder Sharma was the pick of the bowlers, taking three crucial wickets including first innings centurion Virender Sehwag (8).

Sehwag, who had hammered 147 on Tuesday, lasted for 25 balls and was trapped in front by Sharma. Having already secured a first innings lead, group leaders Delhi would press for their fourth straight outright win on the final day, weather permitting of course. The visitors took the crucial first innings lead on Tuesday by bowling out Haryana for 188 after making 278 in the first innings.

Briefscores Delhi: 278 & 134/5 in 41 overs (Gautam Gambhir 46, Shivam Sharma 25; Joginder Sharma 3/18, Kuldeep Hooda 2/22). Haryana: 188 all out.

Ranji round-up

At Jammu J&K vs Karnataka J&K 160 and 233 all out in 66.2 oveers (Adil Reshi 36, Ian Chauhan 94, Parvez Rasool 25, Vinay Kumar 3 for 52, Abhimanyu Mithun 3 for 55, Aravind Sreenath 3 for 48) lost to Karnataka 423 for 9 decl by an innings and 30 runs. Points: Karnataka 7, J&K 0

At Vizianagaram, Andhra vs Jharkhand, Jharkhand 1st innings 246 all out, Andhra 1st innings 304 all out (Murumulla Sriram 71, Duvvarapu Shivkumar 64; Ashish Kumar 3/83, Rituraj Singh 3/97) Jharkand 2nd innings 49 for three (PR Munda 25 not out; Cheepurapalli Stephen 2/15)

At Guwahati, Assam vs Services, Services 1st innings 113 all out, Assam 1st innings 257 all out (Sibsankar Roy 81; Syed Mohammad 56 not out; Yashpal Singh 2/42, Saurabh Karmar 3/47)

At Kolkata Bengal vs Tamil Nadu, Tamil Nadu 1st innings 246 all out, Bengal 1st innings 454 for 9 declared ( Manoj Tiwary 97, Abhimanyu Easwaran 150 not out; T Natarajan 3/92) Tamil Nadu 2nd innings 80 for one ( Bharat Shankar 38)

At Dharamsala Kerala vs Himachal Pradesh, Kerala 1st innings 196 all out, Himachal Pradesh 1st innings 517 all out (Paras Dogra 166, Bipul Sharma 118; Nizar Niyas 2/72, Ami Verma 2/48).

At Mumbai Mumbai vs Madhya Pradesh, Mumbai 1st innings 404 all out, Madhya Pradesh 1st innings 538 for seven ( Naman Ojha 155, Devendra Bundela 115; Iqbal Abdulla 3/123).

Next Story
Share it