Millennium Post

Delhi gets 20 semi low-floor buses

Delhi gets 20 semi low-floor buses
A fresh batch of 20 semi low-floor buses will be added to ambitious cluster bus service in the city being operated by private parties under PPP model.

With the induction of the new fleet, the total number of buses under the cluster service will go up to 338. The new buses will operate on route no 460 which connects Badarpur in South Delhi with Minto Road in New Delhi.

The new buses, part of Cluster 2, will ply from Badarpur and go through places like Sarita Vihar, Madanpur Khader Xing, Okhla Tank, Ishwar Nagar, Ashram, Andrews Ganj, Lajpat Nagar, AIIMS/Safdarjung Hospital, INA, Tuglak Road Police Station and Akashvani before terminating at Minto Road.

The semi low-floor orange coloured buses will have an on board passenger information system similar to that of Delhi Metro.

All buses will have an in-built speed governors to regulate their speed. The buses comply with the urban bus specifications notified by the Urban Development Ministry.

In 2009, the Delhi government had divided nearly 650 bus routes across the city into 17 clusters - each comprising profitable and non-profitable routes, and decided to give each cluster to a private operator. Four corporate entities were already given contract to operate the services in five clusters.

The cluster bus service was envisaged to replace the ‘killer’ blueline fleet, which has almost been phased out in the city. The Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) currently operates around 6,500 buses, including 4,000 low-floor buses. The Cluster 2 is being run by concessionaire Indraprastha Logistics.
Next Story
Share it