Millennium Post

Day of the Knights

KKR lost Manvinder Though Bisla early, Gambhir stiched 47 runs in quick time for the second wicket with Jacques Kallis to set up the chase. After Kallis’ dismissal, Gambhir and Manoj Tiwary put up 41 runs to quash any hopes Daredevils were nursing of pulling off a surprise victory. Gambhir smashed 42 off 29 balls with the help of five boundaries and one six while Kallis and Tiwary scored 23 apiece.  

Earlier, Sunil Narine’s superb spell helped KKR  bundle out Daredevils for 128. In the absence of star players Virender Sehwag and Kevin Pietersen, skipper Mahela Jayawardene came to Daredevils’ rescue with a sensible knock of 66 (52b, 8x4, 6x1).

Brett Lee gave KKR the ideal start, cleaning up Unmukt Chand (0) with the very first ball of the championship while Narine and Rajat Bhatia, with his military medium knocked the stuffing out of the opponents sharing six wickets between them. The absence of big guns like Virender Sehwag and Kevin Pietersen really hurt the Daredevils cause as none other than Jayawardene and David Warner (21) could post a double-digit score.

Only once could the Daredevils dominate the KKR attack when Jayawardene hit Lee for consecutive six and four in the penultimate over but only to be dismissed in the next ball as the innings was all but over for the visitors. ee brought the packed stadium come alive with an away-going delivery which saw Unmukt play to a wrong line.

Skipper Jayawardene, who was out of action due to a finger injury, then steadied the ship with a 44-run second wicket stand with Warner. The duo played some intelligent cricket taking four in every over as they kept the run-rate above eight-run mark. Mystery spinner Narine, who was instrumental in KKR’s last year triumph last season, came to haunt once again when he dismissed the dangerman Warner (21) as couldn’t negotiate the turn and bounce giving Jacques Kallis the easiest of catch at first slip. The dismissal was enough to bring the run-rate down as Mahela waged a lone battle with wickets falling at the other end at regular intervals.

BRIEF SCORES: DD: 128 all out in 20 overs (Mahela Jayawardene 66, D Warner 21, Sunil Narine 4/14); KKR: 129/4 in 18.4 overs (Gautam Gambhir 42, Jacques Kallis 23, M Tiwary 23).
Next Story
Share it