Millennium Post

Davis Cup: Amritraj can’t play for India

Efforts to rope in US-based Prakash Amritraj in the Davis Cup squad to negate a boycott threat from the top players came to a nought on Wednesday with the Sports Ministry sticking to its policy that only Indian passport holders can represent the country.

 In the wake of revolt by eight top players, including Somdev Devvarman, Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan Bopanna, the AITA was trying to bolster its line-up by including an in-form Amritraj in the squad for the South Korea tie, beginning February 1.

 In December 2008, the ministry had formulated a policy on the participation of sportsperson in international events under which it had decided that only Indian citizens were eligible to represent the country. That policy had rendered three Indian tennis players - Amritraj, Sunitha Rao and Neha Uberoi ineligible for national selection.

‘We have issued a clarification to all the (NSFs), saying that anybody who has Indian passport is eligible to play for India otherwise not. If Prakash Amritraj has Indian passport, he can play,’ P K Deb said.
Next Story
Share it