Millennium Post

CSK pull off last ball thriller

Albie Morkel turned the game on its head with some lusty hits as Chennai Super Kings snatched a sensational five-wicket victory in the very last ball against Royal Challengers Bangalore in a dramatic IPL match on Thursday.

Chasing a stiff 206, Morkel blasted three sixes and two fours off the penultimate over bowled by Virat Kohli as the hosts overhauled the target in the last ball to record the second highest runchase in IPL history.

Faf du plessis (71) and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (41) were the other notable scorers for Chennai who have now got their campaign back on track after two successive defeats.
The home team turned the complexion of the game in the 19th over with Morkel racking up 28 runs and needed 15 runs in the last over.Morkel perished in the second ball of the last over bowled by Vinay Kumar but Dwayne Bravo (25) did the star turn by taking the team to the victory in the tense dying moments of the cliffhanger.

From the start of the chase, Chennai tried to make a match of it with Fa du Plessis (71, 46b, 5x4, 4x6) and Suresh Raina (23, 14b, 3x4, 1x6), and then captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (40, 24b, 1x4, 2x6) playing valuable knocks.

But their efforts appeared to have fallen short as Muttiah Muralitharan provided crucial breakthroughs at the right times.After a breathtaking diving return catch to send back Murali Vijay (11) in his first over, Muralitharan dismissed Fa du Plessis and then Raina just as the two were shaping well for a big score. Dhoni, who promoted himself to number 4, started to strike the ball well but with the asking rate climbing up, the target always looked near impossible.
But Morkel, who came at the fall of Dhoni’s wicket in the 19th over, turned the match completely.

Chennai began the chase on a steady note with du Plessis playing a dominating role. The South African signalled his intent with a fluent cover drive off pacer Zaheer Khan and struck two more in his next over.
Brief scores: RCB: 205 for 8 in 20 overs (C Gayle 68, V Kohli 57, M Agarwal 45); CSK: 208 for 5 in 20 overs (F du Plessis 71, MS Dhoni 41, Albie Morkel 28, D Bravo 25 no).
Next Story
Share it