Millennium Post

CPI(M)’s streak broken in Karimpur as TMC wins for first time

One of the all achievements of Trinamool Congress in 2016 Assembly Elections is the win in Karimpur Assembly seat where CPI(M) had been winning since 1971 leaving only five years from 1972 to 1977.
Trinamool Congress had fielded Mohua Maitra from the constituency against the seasoned CPI(M) leader and sitting MLA Samarendranath Ghosh.

The fight was tough. Everyone had kept their fingers crossed over the win of the CPI(M) nominee. Ghosh had been confident of his win considering that his party still has a strong organisation in the area. Moreover, the so called alliance of CPI(M) and Congress had made him more confident of his win.

But hardly anyone had taken note of the undercurrent which ultimately resulted in a defeat of Ghosh by 15,989 votes. In 2011, CPI(M) had managed to retain the seat by defeating Dr Ramen Sarkar of Trinamool Congress by only 5,085 votes.

But the overall development of the area in the past four and a half years despite the election of CPI(M) in 2011 had paved the way assuring win of Trinamool Congress from the seat this time.

A senior Trinamool Congress leader from the district said that this is the first time in the history of the state when people had voted for development. Karimpur is not an exception. Moreover, Mitra had visited door to door to reach the people and to establish a mass contact.

CPI(M) had won the election first time from Karimpur in 1971. Since then in the past 45 years Congress had defeated CPI(M) candidate only once in 1972. The Left had got back the seat again in 1977 and continued to win till 2011. This time, too, the CPI(M) had campaigned against the Trinamool Congress candidate stating her as an outsider.

But crushing all odds people’s mandate this time was for Trinamool Congress and Mohua Mitra has become MLA from the constituency.

Next Story
Share it