Millennium Post

CPI(M)’s Ekramul Haq, 36 others join Trinamool

Ekramul Haq, CPI(M) north Dinajpur district committee member and party’s candidate from Chopra Assembly seat, on Tuesday joined the Trinamool Congress with 36 comrades. Haq was defeated by Hamidul Rahaman of the Trinamool Congress. Haq said he had joined the TMC because of the development work carried out by the party.

Meanwhile, 10 Congress supporters of Lodhre block in Goalpokhar also joined the TMC. They joined the party in presence of TMC MLA Golam Rabbani. The joining of CPI(M) leaders and workers to the TMC was apprehended by some senior party leaders. “Many of our supporters did not support the alliance and once the alliance failed to get desirable results, they are quitting the party,” they said. 

The Left Front has bagged 32 seats of which the CPI(M) got 26 seats while RSP, Forward Bloc and CPI got 3, 2 and 1 seats. After 2011 elections, many CPI(M) leaders and workers joined the party, but  this time  the number is expected to increase.
Next Story
Share it