Millennium Post

CPI(M) to vote against BJP, PDP in RS elections in J&K

“I am not with the Government. I am always for secular ethos of the country. I am not going to vote for PDP-BJP alliance,” CPI(M) State Secretary and MLA-elect M Y Tarigami told a news agency. “I have made it quite clear that I will not be voting for them. This is an opportunist alliance,” Tarigami said.

Hakeem Yasin, another Independent candidate who was elected from Khansahib Assembly segment in Budgam district, said, “We are holding a meeting to decide whom to vote for in RS polls”. “Engineer Rasheed (MLA-elect Handwara), Tarigami and I will take a decision in this regard at the meeting today,” he said in Srinagar.

Senior Congress leader Gulam Nabi Azad is among seven candidates in the fray for the forthcoming elections for 4 Rajya Sabha seats later this week.

The contestants are: Mir Mohammad Fayaz (PDP), Sajjad Ahmad Kichloo (NC), Shamsher Singh (BJP), Nasir Aslam Wani (NC), Nazir Ahmad Laway (PDP), Chander Mohan Sharma (BJP) and Ghulam Nabi Azad (INC) after the withdrawal of of candidature has been fixed on 31st January..

While BJP and PDP have fielded two candidates each under seat sharing arrangements, National Conference and Congress have jointly nominated three candidates including Azad.  

Rizvi sides with PDP, set-back to NC

Independent candidate from Zanaskar Assembly segment Bakir Hussain Rizvi has decided to vote for PDP in forthcoming polls to four Rajya Sabha seats from Jammu and Kahsmir.

"I have decided to vote for the PDP in forthcoming polls to elect Rajya Sabha members from J&K", Rizvi said on Monday. Rizvi, who took part in a meeting of the elected members of PDP on Saturday night, said "I have extended my support by taking part in the meeting of PDP". Rizvi was elected with support of National Conference, which had not fielded its candidate in the Constituency. The NC was counting the Rizvi in its favour.

Next Story
Share it