Congress will not join LF rally on July 11 against spiraling price rise

Congress will not join LF rally on  July 11 against spiraling price rise
The Left Front allies had held the CPI(M) responsible for the poll debacle. As the central committee of CPI(M) had declared on Monday that “The alliance with Congress or even understanding was not in consonance with the Central Committee’s decision.” The Left Front allies on Tuesday made scathing attack on the pro alliance CPI(M) leaders.

Kshiti Goswami, state RSP secretary said he had earlier criticised the alliance and would continue to do so in future. He said it was an alliance of convenience and was formed to satisfy the vested interest of some leaders. The principle of Left Front was sacrificed and in many areas the leaders of the alliance had helped Congress against LF candidates. The trend had set a bad precedence and was dangerous to “the health of Left Front.” 

He reiterated that the alliance with Congress was never discussed in the Front and some leaders of CPI(M) had taken the decision on their own. CPI(M) state secretary Surya Kanta Misra who was present in the meeting did not say anything to defend his stand. 

It may be mentioned that till Monday Misra and his comrades like Mohammad Selim and Gautam Deb used to call the tie up as “people’s alliance”. But after the Central Committee’s statement on Monday asking the Politburo to take up the matter with state leadership to rectify the political tactics, the pro alliance lobby has been shattered.

“I had raised my voice against the alliance and it is the victory of principle,” Goswami remarked.
Earlier, Forward Bloc leaders said the alliance was not a people’s alliance and was formed to cater to the vested interest of some CPI(M) leaders. It may be recalled that when problems cropped up over sharing of seats with Congress, Misra met Abdul Mannan and Pradip Bhattacharya at Ganashakti’s office to resolve the impasse, but no LF parties were called at the meeting.

In 294-member West Bengal Assembly, Left Front has 32 seats. Of these, CPI(M) has 26 seats, RSP , Forward Bloc and CPI has three, two and one seat respectively. However, in the Assembly, Congress and Left Front held joint press conference and said they would continue to launch joint protest inside the House.



Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it