Millennium Post

Congress election committee: Sibal, Sandeep Dikshit & Tirath named

Former Congress MPs like Kapil Sibal, Sandeep Dikshit and Krishna Tirath along with former party MLAs from Delhi — Yoganand Shastri and Mateen Ahmed were on Monday included in the party’s election committee for the forthcoming Assembly polls.

According to AICC General Secretary Janardhan Dwivedi, names of Kapil Sibal, Sandeep Dikshit, Ms Krishna Tirath and Dr Yoganand Shastri and Mateen Ahmed have been included in the Delhi Pradesh Congress election committee.

In the last month, when the Congress had constituted its election committee for Delhi assembly polls, all three former MPs were not included in the list. The previous list consisted of former Delhi MP Ajay Maken, Rajya Sabha MPs Karan Singh, Perwaz Hashmi and Janardhan Dwivedi along with former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit. According to AICC General Secretary Dwivedi, the 24-member Pradesh election committee for Delhi, constituted by party president Sonia Gandhi, also includes Delhi MLA Haroon Yusuf, CWC member RK Dhawan, former PCC presidents JP Agarwal, Subhash Chopra and Prem Singh, AICC secretaries Manish Chatrath and Naseeb Singh and former MPs Ramesh Kumar and Mahabal Misra.

Next Story
Share it