Millennium Post

C’mpions Trophy final squad to be picked on Sat

The final India squad for ICC Champions Trophy, to be held in June in England and Wales, will be picked by the national selectors on 4 May, BCCI announced on Monday.

The five-man selection panel headed by Sandeep Patil will prune the list of 30 probables already selected to half its size for the 6-23 June tournament. The selectors had dropped senior players Virender Sehwag and Harbhajan Singh when they picked the probables on 6 April, butthey  have the option to choose players from outside the list, according to an ICC source.

India and South Africa are scheduled to kick off the contest on 6 June at Cariff in a Group B match. India will take on the West Indies at the Kennington Oval on 11 June and then conclude the four-team group engagement on 15 June against arch-rivals Pakistan at Edgbaston. Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka form Group A.

The top two teams from each group would progress to the semifinals scheduled on 19 and 20 June at the Kennington Oval and Cardiff, respectively. The final will be played at Edgbaston 23 June.

The list of 30 probables: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, A Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, M S Dhoni, Wriddhiman Saha, Dinesh Karthik, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Jalaj Saxena, Parvez Rasool, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Irfan Pathan, Vinay Kumar, Paveen Kumar, I C Pandey and Sidharth Kaul.
Next Story
Share it