Millennium Post

Centre sends 6 names to Pranab for Rajya Sabha

Centre sends 6 names to Pranab for Rajya Sabha
The Central Government has recommended to President Pranab Mukherjee the names of six persons for nomination to the Rajya Sabha (RS). This list has been approved by the Union Cabinet and the Prime Minister’s Office.  The list includes Senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader Dr Subramanian Swamy, former cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu, Olympian boxer Mary Kom, senior journalist Swapan Dasgupta, economist Dr Narendra Jhadhav and Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi are being nominated to the Rajya Sabha.  On the Government’s recommendation, the President nominates members from those with special knowledge or having made their mark in literature, science, art and social service. The RS has 12 nominated members in its total strength of 245. At present, the upper House has 10 nominated members. Of the 12 nominated members in the Upper House of Parliament, there are seven vacancies at the moment.
Next Story
Share it